Early Years Foundation Stage

We offer Early Years Foundation Stage provision for pupils from three years old. Our Nursery sessions are held every Moday and Tuesday. Pupils join our Foundation Stage and learn alongside our pupils in Reception.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

Throughout your child’s Nursery and Reception year, we provide a wealth of child initated and directed learning opportunities that will support your child's progress towards the Early Learning Goals.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our Early Years Foundation Stage provision. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• communication and language;

• physical development;

• personal, social and emotional development.

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

• literacy

• mathematics 

• understanding the world;

• expressive arts and design.

Tatham Fells CE Primary School, Lowgill, Lancaster, Lancashire, LA2 8RA